School Choices

My sweet daughter will be finishing up 2nd grade in a couple weeks.  It wasn’t easy for her though — she struggles to get her work done.  I don’t know exactly what it is though as she tries hard and she seems to grasp subject matter.  She seems to always be behind though.

Her teacher at our small Christian, Classical school has been great.  But she isn’t convinced my daughter will succeed in 3rd grade.  But I think repeating 2nd grade will harm her because she understands the materials.  I honestly think my daughter is at grade level, but surrounded by peers that are far above grade level.  This is not helpful to her.

I love our school.  But I want what’s best for my girl.  I think I want to home school, but I work full-time.  Can this still be done?  That is the million dollar question.  Lord knows we could use the saved tuition money!  But can I teach her enough while still working?  If I wasn’t working, it’s a no-brainer.  But I am.

Today, I am unsure of what to do.  So, our plan is a little of everything.  I will do a trial run of home schooling as soon as the regular school year lets out.  However, we will not transfer her out of her school until July if we pull her at all.

Leave a Reply

